All 19 UCI WorldTeams will be present at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad on February 27

All 19 UCI WorldTeams will be present at the Belgian season opener with a traditional start in Ghent on 27 February. Among the 6 UCI ProTeams, Alpecin-Fenix and Team Arkéa-Samsic were already sure they could participate thanks to their ranking. The other wildcards went to French and Belgian teams that will help determine the race story on the road to Ninove.

Trek - Segafredo of Jasper Stuyven, last year's winner, will be looking for success again and will be up against, among others, Belgium's Deceuninck - Quick-Step, the team of former winner Stybar (2019) and 2020 runner-up Yves Lampaert, who already confirmed world champion Alaphilippe to be at the start. Lotto Soudal has a two-time former winner of the Omloop in its team with Philippe Gilbert, as does AG2R Citroën Team which welcomed Greg Van Avermaet, winner in 2016 and 2017. Bora-hansgrohe of Peter Sagan, UAE Team Emirates and Jumbo-Visma will also be present. 

Last year, Team DSM, the new team of Tiesj Benoot, got a place on the podium of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad with Soren Kragh Andersen. In their quest to do better this year, they will be up against Astana-Premier Tech, Bahrain Victorious, Cofidis, EF Education Nippo Groupama - FDJ, Ineos Grenadiers, Team Qhubeka Assos and Intermarché Wanty-Gobert Matérieaux which is racing as a WorldTeam for the first time. 

Alpecin-Fenix and Team Arkéa-Samsic were already sure of participation as number one and two in the ranking at the end of last season. This year the wildcards go to the French teams B&B Hotels P/B KTM and Total Direct Energie and to the Belgian teams Bingoal WB and Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise. 

27 February is getting closer and soon the successor to Jasper Stuyven will be crossing the finish line in Ninove.

The names of the participants will be announced shortly.

Photo: Jasper Stuyven outsprints Yves Lampaert to win the 2020 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Jasper Stuyven outsprints Yves Lampaert to win the 2020 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad


Tag: classics
Apr 14 2021 - NEWS: British Neo-Pro Tom Pidcock sprints to Brabantse Pijl from breakaway
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Classics LIVE Daily Coverage
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour of the Basque LIVE Daily Coverage
Apr 04 2021 - NEWS: Kasper Asgreen powers to Tour of Flanders Victory
Apr 01 2021 - NEWS: van der Poel, van Aert and Alaphilippe favorites for the Tour of Flanders
Mar 31 2021 - NEWS: Dylan Van Baarle solos 50k to Dwars door Vlaanderen victory
Mar 28 2021 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert powers to Gent-Wevelgem victory from the breakaway
Mar 26 2021 - NEWS: Kasper Asgreen attacks twice to solo to E3 Saxo Bank Classic Victory
Mar 20 2021 - NEWS: Jasper Stuyven wins Milan-San Remo in sprint finale
Mar 18 2021 - NEWS: Van der Poel: Milano-Sanremo is one of the toughest races to win
Mar 06 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel powers to Strade Bianche victory
Feb 28 2021 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen wins Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne from Bunch Sprint
Feb 26 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel a favorite at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne
Feb 27 2021 - NEWS: Davide Ballerini wins bunch sprint win at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: UAE Tour LIVE Daily Coverage
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Mar 24 2017 - EVENT: The Dirty Devil
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Feb 23 2019 - EVENT: Rocheport Roubaix
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix