Wout Van Aert powers to Gent-Wevelgem victory from the breakaway

Wout van Aert took victory at Ghent-Wevelgem, beating sprint aces Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka-ASSOS), Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates) and Michael Matthews (BikeExchange) from the breakaway

Wout Van Aert powers to Gent-Wevelgem victory from the breakaway

The Belgian made it into the front group after windy conditions caused echelons to form on the road with 100 km to go. Nine riders went away including Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Danny van Poppel (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert), Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Nathan Van Hooydonck (Jumbo-Visma), Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Victorious), Michael Matthews (Team BikeExchange), Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka-Assos), Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates) and Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) pass through the Menen Gate in Ypres  with a lead of 52 seconds on the chasers.

He attacked with 36kms to go on the final ascent on the Kemmelberg, Sam Bennett from Deceuninck – Quick-Step started to struggle and was sick due to stomach upset.

Behind the peloton chased in vain as the breakaway was whittled down to seve riders as Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Danny van Poppel (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) were dropped.

In the final sprint van Aert proved to be the strongest, outsprinting Giacomo Nizzolo (Qhubeka-Assos) and Matteo Trentin (UAE Team Emirates).

Wout van Aert  won two stage victories at Tirreno-Adriatico, third at Milan – Sanremo, now taking his first one-day classic win with Ghent-Wevelgem.

VIDEO: 2021 Gent-Wevelgem Highlights

2021 Gent-Wevelgem Top 10

1          Wout van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma
2          Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Qhubeka-Assow
3          Matteo Trentin (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
4          Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bahrain Victorious
5          Michael Matthews (Aus) Team BikeExchange
6          Stefan Küng (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
7          Nathan Van Hooydonck (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma
8          Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Ineos Grenadiers
9          Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie
10        Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix

Tag: classics
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Tour of the Basque LIVE Daily Coverage
Apr 04 2021 - NEWS: Kasper Asgreen powers to Tour of Flanders Victory
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: Classics LIVE Daily Coverage
Apr 01 2021 - NEWS: van der Poel, van Aert and Alaphilippe favorites for the Tour of Flanders
Mar 31 2021 - NEWS: Dylan Van Baarle solos 50k to Dwars door Vlaanderen victory
Mar 28 2021 - NEWS: Wout Van Aert powers to Gent-Wevelgem victory from the breakaway
Mar 26 2021 - NEWS: Kasper Asgreen attacks twice to solo to E3 Saxo Bank Classic Victory
Mar 20 2021 - NEWS: Jasper Stuyven wins Milan-San Remo in sprint finale
Mar 18 2021 - NEWS: Van der Poel: Milano-Sanremo is one of the toughest races to win
Mar 06 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel powers to Strade Bianche victory
Feb 28 2021 - NEWS: Mads Pedersen wins Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne from Bunch Sprint
Feb 26 2021 - NEWS: Mathieu van der Poel a favorite at Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne
Feb 27 2021 - NEWS: Davide Ballerini wins bunch sprint win at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
Jul 30 2020 - NEWS: UAE Tour LIVE Daily Coverage
Feb 14 2021 - NEWS: All 19 UCI WorldTeams will be present at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad on February 27
Apr 01 2015 - RESULTS: Gorge Roubaix Grinder a Great Success
Mar 16 2015 - RESULTS: Rouge Roubaix Classic Race and Gran Fondo
Apr 10 2016 - EVENT: The Darby Roubaix
Mar 24 2017 - EVENT: The Dirty Devil
Feb 04 2018 - EVENT: Edgware Road Club Centurian Reliability
Mar 24 2018 - EVENT: Lakeville-Milltown-Lakeville
Mar 25 2018 - EVENT: Love Valley Roubaix
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Montana Hell Ride
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Crushed Rock Classic
Apr 14 2018 - EVENT: Mammoth Gravel Classic
Apr 28 2018 - EVENT: NorCal Spring Classic
Feb 17 2019 - EVENT: Flint Hills Express
Feb 23 2019 - EVENT: Rocheport Roubaix
Apr 14 2019 - EVENT: Steaming Nostril
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Strada Fango
May 05 2019 - EVENT: Fountain-Roubaix
Jun 09 2019 - EVENT: Wellington Roubaix