Colnago Gran Fondo National E-Fondo Championship Series
United States >> 2021 UAE Tour LIVE Coverage

Jonas Vingegaard wins atop Jebel Jais as Pogacar extends lead

Young Danish rider Jonas Vingegaard won atop the Jebel Jais climb on stage five overtaking Alexey Lutsenko with 250m in a late attack

Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) went on the attack with 500 metres to go and caught the final breakaway contender Lutsenko just before the finish line.

Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) finished second ahead of Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers) who came third unable to attack.

Pogacar increased his lead over Yates by three seconds thanks to bonus seconds on the line.

A large breakaway of nine riders went away including Matthias Frank (Ag2r-Citröen), Larry Warbasse, Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Premier Tech), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal), Alex Dowsett (Israel Start-Up Nation), Roger Kluge (Lotto-Soudal), Lasse Norman Hansen (Qhubeka-Assos), Kevin Colleoni (BikeExchange) and Omer Goldstein (Israel Start-Up Nation).

The gap went up to four minutes before Ineos Grenadiers took over the chase from UAE Team Emirates with around 50km to go and the lead started to fall.

De Gendt sprinted for both intermediate sprints to take back the black away from Tony Gallopin (Ag2r-Citröen).

The break hit the final climb and De Gendt upped the pace, Hansen, Dowsett, Warbasse and Kluge were dropped.

Filippo Ganna and Andrey Amador put in a huge effort to close the breakaway's lead, and with 18km to go when Ineos took over.

With 16km to go the breakaway imploded as Lutsenko attacked De Gendt and Goldstein.

With 14km to go, Ineois had brought the gap to Lutsenko down to 1m 30s.

With 7km to go Lutsenko still had a lead of 1m 4s, Ben Zwiehoff (Bora-Hansgrohe) upped the pace before Martínez took over for Ineos bringing the gap down to 44 seconds.

Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo) who went on the attack and so did Harm Vanhoucke (Lotto-Soudal) with 5 km to go.

Next up was Wout Poels (Bahrain Victorious) and João Almeida (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) who brought Nibali, Vanhoucke and Poels back.

Yates caught Almedia with 1.5km to go with just 20 riders left in contention.

Vingegaard attacked and Lutsenko was caught by the Dane with 250 metres to go.

Vingegaard kicked again, leaving Lutsenko behind, taking the stage ahead of a fast-finishing Pogacar, Yates and Sergio Higuita (EF Education-Nippo).

2020 UAE Tour Stage 5 Top 10

1. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN) Team Jumbo-Visma, in 4-19-08
2. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates, at 3 seconds
3. Adam Yates (GBR) Ineos Grenadiers, at same time
4. Sergio Higuita (COL) EF Education-Nippo, at 5s
5. João Almeida (POR) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 6s
6. Nick Schultz (AUS) Team BikeExchange, at same time
7. Sepp Kuss (USA) Team Jumbo-Visma, at 8s
8. Wout Poels (NED) Bahrain Victorious
9. Ben Hermans (BEL) Israel Start-Up Nation
10. Geoffrey Bouchard (FRA) Ag2r La Mondiale-Citroën, all at same time.

2020 UAE Tour GC after Stage 5

1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates, in 17-09-26
2. Adam Yates (GBR) Ineos Grenadiers, at 45 seconds
3. João Almeida (POR) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 1-12
4. Chris Harper (AUS) Team Jumbo-Visma, at 1-54
5. Neilson Powless (USA) EF Education-Nippo, at 1-56
6. Mattias Skjelmose Jensen (DEN) Trek-Segafredo, at 2-47
7. Damiano Caruso (ITA) Bahrain Victorious, at 2-49
8. Mattias Cattaneo (ITA) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 4-03
9. Rubén Fernández (ESP) Cofidis, at 4-23
10. Fausto Masnada (ITA) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 6-40.

2021 UAE Tour Latest News