Gran Fondo Asheville, NC - July 18th - USA Cycling Gran Fondo Championship - FIND OUT MORE!
United States >> 2021 Volta Ao Algarve LIVE COVERAGE

Rodrigues overhauls Hayter on final climb to win Volta ao Algarve

Joao Rodrigues took the victory at the Volta ao Algarve after distancing race leader Ethan Hayter on the final climb on the last stage

The young Briton, Hayter held the lead after stage 2, who crashed during Saturday’s time trial but still extended his race lead, was unable to hang on in the face of an onslaught from the Portuguese team up the final climb of the closing stage.

Rodrigues dropped all the favorites, except Elie Gesbert (Arkea-Samsic).

The Frenchman beat Rodrigues to the line, but the W52-Porto rider was happy to grab overall race victory, with Hayter finishing nine seconds behind.

Rodrigues' teammate Joni Brandão took third on the stage, as Amaro Antunes finsihed fifth in an impressive showing for W52/FC Porto.

Rodrigues is the first Portuguese rider to win the race since João Cabreira in 2006, which coincidentally, was the last time a domestic rider won the stage race.

2021 Volta ao Algarve Stage 5 Top 10

01  Elie Gesbert Arkéa-Samsic 04:10:10
02  Joao Rodrigues W52 - FC Porto - Reconco + 00
03  Joni Brandão W52 - FC Porto - Reconco + 09
04  Jonathan Lastra Caja Rural-Seguros RGA + 11
05  Amaro Antunes W52 - FC Porto - Reconco + 15
06  Joaquim Silva Tavfer - Measindot - Mortagua + 17
07  Nicolas Prodhomme AG2R Citroën Team + 17
08  Kasper Asgreen Deceuninck-Quick Step + 19
09  Sebastian Henao INEOS Grenadiers + 21
10  Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers + 21

2021 Volta ao Algarve Final General Classification Top 10

1 João Rodrigues (Por) W52/FC Porto 19:03:56
2 Ethan Hayter (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 0:00:09
3 Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep 0:00:28
4 Jonathan Lastra Martinez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:00:41
5 Elie Gesbert (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:00:44
6 Thibault Guernalec (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:00:48
7 Maxime Bouet (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic 0:01:13
8 Sebastian Henao Gomez (Col) Ineos Grenadiers 0:01:27
9 Jóni Brandão (Por) W52/FC Porto 0:01:40
10 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Burgos-BH 0:01:54

2021 Volta Ao Algarve Lastest News